My first post, and why this isn’t perfect, thank goodness.

First of all, to anyone who is and may someday read this – Hello!  Now that the awkward introduction is over, down to a bit of business.  I just started this blog as a dovetail in part, to promote my illustration and design efforts at Tyrlion Design, my fresh out of my mind illustration company. Not that it is entirely new, per se. I have had many ideas and concepts that (I hope) the viewer will find interesting over the following weeks and months that follow. My art tends to run into the fantastical. I like to tinker, and fantasy art allows me to experiment with culture, color, architecture, anatomy and anything and everything that a more mundane palette might not as easily allow.  This isn’t to disparage other artists.  To create, and make something, be it entirely ultra-realistic or non-objective is something I admire. It’s just that I have my own little beat to follow.  So I won’t disparage the art. Sometimes I might get a little miffed at a self-pretentious artist who sets him or herself up to be some self-appointed genius, but that is another matter entirely. As my father so eloquently put it when I was a young lad “his sh*t stinks like everyone else”.  I try to keep that in mind, even when I listen to Beethoven or look at Michelangelo. Or when I look in my own toilet bowl.   It tends to keep things in perspective for me.

Not so long ago, I would have waited to do all of this. Waited to make sure my blog, my websites, my art, everything I do was just….perfect.  The problem was, it never was perfect, at least in my mind. I waited, and waited. Years and years passed by. Finally, at the tender age of 43, I finally just had it.  I was becoming miserable, working in a dead end job, with no prospects for a future, either financially or creatively. The job I was working didn’t pay enough. I cut back and worked more. Repeat, ad nauseum, for over 17 years.  Feeling more and more trapped, my loving wife saw the writing on the wall.  She agreed to let me go on this quest, and we quit our jobs and moved across the continent with what savings we could scramble.  So here I am. With a crude website, a crude wordpress site, and many crude mechanisms that I am trying to desperately cobble together.  It doesn’t look professional, and it looks messy and boring. It will get better, I promise.  A little TLC over time, diligently applied, can go a long way.

So aside from the mess, this will be at the very least a discussion on art (mine and others), what impresses me personally, and anything else. I may even go off on a bit of a rant once in a while, but I will at least try to make them seem fairly well informed.  So, to any future readers, again, welcome!

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

