Zazzle store is coming along swimmingly.

Well, I think I am fairly satisfied by the way things are turning out, product-wise.  After a long day’s work, the revamp is making the store look better.  Although it takes a while, it actually looks like a real place of business 😉 .

And I’m just getting started.  The next few days are going to be spent organizing and adding.  I also will be posting at sometime WIP (works in progress) to let people know what new works I have cooking.   I am literally bursting with ideas!

But alas, the dry business stuff must many times come first.   In a way I don’t mind it.   As I continue down that particular mundane path, it helps make in my mind that I want this to be real.   I want this dream to become my life permanently.  So I have to keep reminding and convincing myself  – this is why I gave up my life back east.   I needed to get out of the mindset of failure, of giving up, of letting other forces whisk my away to a life of boredom, mediocrity and more times than not defeatist self-pity.

I’ve had to make many changes.  From my appearance, to aspects of my personality.   No, that isn’t exactly right.  It’s been more like accentuating the more aggressive parts of my personality, and subliminating the more passive ones.  As an example, I’ve always been a more “if I do good work, people will notice without me saying anything”, “I don’t want to be too forward”, etc.   Well, I told myself, when I came out here, that would go out the window.   And despite me being uncomfortable with the prospect on the inside, I am now very forward and very direct when it comes to my work and meeting people.   The good thing is, it seems to get easier the more I do it, thank goodness.  I also tell myself “Well, speak up, promote and see what happens!  What’s the worst that can happen? Embarrassment?”

Self-promotion is something that doesn’t always come easily, but it is necessary.  My northeastern upbringing doesn’t like it sometimes (at least part of me – being an artist is almost always a cry for attention of sorts) but I have to get over it.

And I’m not from the Northeast anymore, am I?

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

