Knowing is half the battle. Proving it is the other half.

Ah, times are so fast paced.  I have been looking at various freelance and permanent positions for my bread and butter money until Tyrlion Design takes off and becomes an entity unto its own.    And I see the work many clients want. While such tasks as HTML 5 and CSS are beyond me I do know I can do illustrations and designs.  The problem is this – I lack the portfolio to prove it in some cases.   As an instance.  I look at avatar creation.  This seems a simple affair.  I know I can do this.  However, my portfolio is that of a fantasy illustrator with some classical elements.  Alas, no I have to sometime add avatar creation to my portfolio.   I see it pop up enough that it must be added.   And there are a ton more.  Living in Silicon valley has highlighted, no actually shined a great sun-like fire on my work, and what I need to shore up in order to survive and later prosper in this environment.

I am under no illusions. Development of the necessary portfolio enhancements will take long months, if not years.  But I do think the elements that I will be striving for will dovetail with what I have found what I am. I am an illustrator, but my creation of worlds as both an illustrator and writer of homebrew roleplaying games and stories shows that I am a concept artist.  My portfolio just needs to be fleshed out more to show it.

Looking at other concept artists work, I see a daunting task before me.  Daunting, but not impossible.  It simply needs to be worked on, night and day.  But it will happen, perhaps later than sooner. But it will happen.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

