Grumpy Old Men.

Well, they weren’t grumpy, but they were old.    I had my first meeting with 2 counselors from SCORE today.  No, SCORE isn’t a trained group of ninja assassins (I think).  Well, they may be, but that is besides the point.   SCORE is a non-profit group of business entrepreneurs that helps startup and fledgling businesses get on the right track and minimize failure.   I requested a meeting to see if I was on the right track with what I was doing.   Basically, (and usually gently, though not always), they more or less told me to pull back, start slow, and make a hell of a lot of friends.  The RIGHT friends. And FOCUS.    I did confess to them at times I felt like I was running all over the place trying to get things done.

They told me I had to work not just hard, but smart.  I have to avoid burnout.  I need to do a few things at first, and do them right.  They told me to focus less on the internet and more on developing relationships through speaking and word of mouth.  I did tell them I was meeting as many people I could.  They told me that I didn’t need to do that, I had to meet the RIGHT people.  The ones that PAY. And to FOCUS.  Find out what makes money for what I do, who has the money, and where. And show up to functions.  Get to know the customers.  Network.   They said I cannot call myself a real business until I get at least 3 clients.  Until then, I was just me.  A guy.   Well, fair enough, that was understood.

They said I need to focus on getting a real paying job first, so I can take care of myself and my family.  I told them I was going to be at 2 job fairs in the next 2 weeks, as well as putting in resumes all over the bay area.  That seemed to placate them.  For about 5 seconds!  But truthfully, it was very informative.   These fellows wanted to help.  It was an hour conversation I will use.  Once in a while an artist needs an occasional mental wrastlin’ match to stay on target.  And in a few weeks or a month, when I get some more experience under my belt, and I need another batch of helpful curmudgeony goodness – I will make the SCORE pilgrimage again.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

