Lesson Learned!

Or how to make Lemonade out of lemons.  It has been an interesting few months, to say the least.  With moving, coming west, working a temp job, starting up a small business.  I have worked non-stop for over 20 years. And even as a kid since elementary school, I worked delivered newspapers, worked at restaurants, and even sewage plants. So I never really “stopped”.  So then I had my “mid-life crisis/awakening”.  And I set about taking 20 years of wrong turns, of frustration and apathy into the last 5 months of wild transformation.

It hasn’t been without hiccups.  The first month, I think I just fell into torpor.  Even though I knew I should be doing more, I just slept. And relaxed. ALOT.  I didn’t go much of anywhere, see hardly anyone. I played video games.   I needed to be a kid again.  I knew I should care, but I didn’t.  But in a months time I learned a lesson – it’s not fulfilling.  You stay up all night, get up with a slight headace (I don’t even drink alcohol!) and it doesn’t make for a fulfilling life.  Lesson learned.

The next step was the move. My wife and I moved the car first.  It wasn’t practical to take our car on a hitch with a HUGE moving truck, so we decided to take the trip. Twice. The first part was an 11 day epic journey.  We drove across the country to places we wanted to touch upon, places we had always wanted to see but never had the means or excuse to go to. So we took a some clothes, some blankets and our laptops and headed west in a bit of a circuitous but infinity varied route. We drove to many places, including a huge amount of national parks. Places I’d only dreamed of going to.  I got to see the Mall of America, the Black Hills, Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse. We went to Devil’s Tower, Yellowstone, Jackson Hole, The Grand Tetons. Then to Salt Lake City, to Bryce Canyon, Dixie National Forest, Zion and the Grand Canyon. Then to Las Vegas at the Luxor, Johsua Tree Park, and too many other deserts to count.  Then to Hollywood. and Big Sur and finally to San Jose. And multitudes of cool places like Alien Beef Jerky. It showed what I already knew but expanded upon that knowledge.  The country is BIG. And varied, wild, rugged and beautiful. It really hit my wife, who has led a more sheltered life than some.  I have led a sheltered life too, my only reason I wasn’t as surprised is I’ve read a lot of geography and history over the years. Lesson learned.

Then I came back home after a week or two.  And then really moved.  We could only take half our stuff (stuff accumulates over 40 years of life!), but it was monumental. Especially with just me and my brother helping. Then we drove breakneck, and got here.  Within a week, my wife and I had a temp job at a place called Zazzle.  And the place was so cool, the people so kind. They were funny.  They were smart.  I woke up wanting to go to work. To try so hard for the company, it’s people, it’s vision.  It’s what I always wanted in a job.  And I sometimes had to smack myself and not get emotional over it. My wife and I felt like, if we could be given the chance, we would give up one of our arms to work there.  It felt like – it felt like one was raised by a family of terrible horrid people (i.e. last place of work), and suddenly finding, at age 40, that you found your REAL parents. And though it was a mix up, they were there. And they loved you all along. And it would be alright.  It felt that powerful.   So I fell in love with the people of Silico Valley even more.  Work hard, play hard, be kind. Help people learn and grow. An incredible lesson to learn!

Alas, it ended.  They gave us what the could, but eventually it was bye-bye.  But that lesson was learned.  Even with sweet people and a creative field, don’t depend on anyone to rescue you.  Depend on yourself.  Dust yourself off, look for another job.  And get down to business. Lesson learned!

So here I am…Being gainfully unemployed. Business started, licensing done, logos and websites created. And now starting to advertise. I’ve worked at least as hard every day being unemployed as being employed. I hope I can get clients. Because I love waking up every day.  This unemployment stint has served my mind, soul and spirit well.  Now, I would like to use my skills to hone my talents again.  And serve others.  I really hope this works.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

