The Art Institute of Sunnyvale.

In my quest to learn and grow as an artist, I am looking into any and every possibility.  A few weeks ago, I filled out a small form for the art institute in Sunnyvale.  I thought I would get a cute email, and maybe a small packet.  Instead what I got was so much more.  A recruiter talked to me, at some length.  Somehow she talked me into an appointment.  I drove to Sunnyvale, a short 20 minute drove from my residence.

She was a young, sweet woman. We talked art, we talked my aspirations and situation.  I was curious as to her life, when she mentioned her parents were from Iran, and how she traveled there on vacations. We talked global politics briefly.  But she was truly a good counselor.  I admired her candor and from what I could see, the general goodness of her personality.  She set me up with an impromptu meeting with the Head of the Department of Animation. This well spoken gentleman has worked for Dreamworks, Lucasarts, and more. On his advisory committee he told me he had Electronic Ats, Dreamworks, LucasArt and more great companies of such high caliber.

To speak with such a personage, on a one on one basis was extremely interesting.  He was kind, and affable, and gave me hope tempered with the realization it can all be done with the right education and a strong work ethic.  And of course, 3 years and 90,000 dollars.  Of course, my cost would probably be less, as I already have a bachelor of arts.  So my general education classes, as well as several foundation classes could be wavered.  Still, I’m thinking 70-80 K, which is very disconcerting.  However, if I indeed could be hired as an animator at 90+K a year…..and could actually afford the cost during that time…..it might (a HUGE might) be worth it.

How I would give my eye teeth for such an opportunity!   The chance to learn so much!  But, like everything else, it comes down to money.  Always money and time, which usually go hand in hand.   It is frustrating.  Money influences almost everything in our lives.   It is the great determinate  in our lives.

I doubt I will ever get the chance to engage in more art education.  Only if I became employed in a place that would help me pay for it, or I somehow strike it rich could I do so.  The only two plans I have are working at a place like IGT  (a bit of a longshot) or becoming an insurance god at Primerica and turn my profits into more art education or buying the software that would enable me to self-train.

Every day out in San Jose and the Bay is a godsend to me, a glimpse of paradise.   I so love it out here.  But I am wracked with paranoia.  I need employment.  I need something fairly soon, in the next few months.  I feel a primal need to stay in this area.  Will I have to give up my artistic dreams again, at least for a time?   At least to allow myself to stay?  It turns my stomach in some ways.   So I will hope for the best. Keep trying.  Keep doing.   So enough of this for now.  On to job searching and doing art!

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

