Next Phase, please

I now have come to the next phase of my development in my art. I have spent the last several weeks in a learning curve when it comes to business, social media, job searches, job fairs, interviews, learning the lay of the land, making some initial contacts, and building my website. I would now say I am sliding into a more “maintaining and improvement” phase. This is good, because I had little to no time to actually do what I am supposed to be doing – producing art.

So on to the next phase, please.

I am now compiling notes for projects, starting on R&D (downloading/looking/reading at research materials and sketching. So now I can finally start some work! I will still be somewhat busy the next few weeks, as I am studying for my insurance exam (I know, I know), but now I can at least review my ideas in my mind, and start to work on my “master plan” of my world development. Coinage, Architecture, Races, Prominent personages, landscapes, weaponry, armor, languages and script! So much abounds!

Looking at what I have in mind, I have hundreds of ideas, which is just the beginning! If I can just!……Ok. Whoah. I always have to be careful about this. What I have always tended to do is take my “sweeping vision”, get overwhelmed by it, and then don’t know where to go. I need to stop that. NOW.

So this is what I will try to do. First of all, sketch. Everyday, if I can. Secondly, try to, several times a week, develop a concept. Third (and most importantly) pay attention to my paying customers and my volunteer work. So today, a sketch or three, with some client work. That is what I am going to do. Look for my sketches in the mean time.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

