A Sketch a Day Keeps Apathy Away.

Now that I have several websites running, I have decided to make a definite daily regimen – sketching daily.   I do understand that this is something every artist should do and strive for.   However, the last several months (not to say years) have been rather crazy.   Long hours, poor health can take their toll on creativity.   It’s not easy to create (at least for me) when one works 9am to 7-11 pm 5 or more days a week.   Of course, that could be chalked up to apathy.  It is now time to dispel the lingering dregs of apathy, once and for  all.

My plan to sketch is to do what I have been doing the last several months.  One step at a time. One step is how I left my former employ and moved out to San Jose.  One step is how I started up my own small business, started a website and a blog.  One step (literally) was how I started jogging a few weeks ago.  And now, I will sketch every day.  One day at a time.  I am also pondering the possibility that I will post these little works online.  I want to have a record of how I started, and how things looked.  Also, it is instructive to show one’s creative process for the purposes of self instruction and instructing others.

I have at points in my life done sketch regimens before.  Sketching every day is a wonderful way to build creativity, and build it fast.  The first few days or even weeks may look a bit bland.  In my experience however, old fashioned sketching on a daily basis builds creativity and confidence like few other endeavors.   I also am pretty sure I will stick with it, too.  After all, the stakes have never been higher, now that I am in the right location to be in good employ by developing into a top creative artist.

I don’t know whether I will just post a daily sketch, or start an archive.  I think I would like to do the latter, or at least some hybrid form.  It doesn’t matter for now though.  All that  matters is that I start, and don’t stop.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

