Responsibility and watching paint dry.

Whew!   After spending the last several days taking classes (insurance, meh.)  I can finally turn back to my little last orphan, my art.   Poor little thing.   I hate to have to put a hold on my artistic love.   But life can do that, can’t it?   The last 5 straight days were taking classes.   And now I need to try to put in some study time to get my license.   And although studying life insurance is about as exciting as watching paint dry, it is my duty and responsibility to do well for several reasons.

First of all, I hate doing a bad job in any activity I choose.  I am publicly non-nonchalant, but privately I have a HUGE need to succeed.   How much?  Well, how about leaving cherished family, friends and pets behind, travelling 2500 miles and putting my life savings on the line need to succeed?  How about leaving a house my wife and I love, one that we put so much time and effort and money in?

Secondly, even if it is a life insurance company, they did pay for my classes, and are investing time in my training.   If someone or something is willing to put in the time on me, I believe it is my responsibility to repay such belief in me with results that can be quantified.  Thus classes taken, and test pending.

Third, I think the time has been worth it.  Learning about insurance has forced me to learn about such dry topics as retirement, annuities and taxes.  After taking this 32 hour class, I truthfully believe any business person or even united states citizen should take this class.   It’s pretty important.  The knowledge can effect one’s life whether one goes into business or not.

If I do go into the insurance business to give myself money to keep myself going while my illustration business takes off, I still have a sacred trust to learn the skill well.   Because I will be a custodial proxy for peoples money and life savings.  I simply don’t want to screw that up.  I don’t think I could bear the thought of harming some poor families hopes and dreams because I wasn’t on the ball.

On the other hand…..I still am trying to ply my artistic trade.  So I really do have split loyalties.   I cannot be quite as good as I would like in either endeavor, since I am essentially split for time on both pursuits.  I am going to, for the next few months, try to stay squarely in the middle.  I am still wanting and pining for my artistic dreams to come to fruition.  I am giving it a hurrah! as long as I can.  But, if I cannot find an artistic job to my satisfaction, and my freelance career cannot pay the bills….to the insurance life I will go.  Then my priorities will be what they must be. Paying bills, keeping a roof over my wife and I’s head.   And serving the public through selling term insurance. Sometimes being a responsible adult can be a bit of a drag.

On the side, I will keep my Secret Fire, and draw and dream as I always have, hoping to one day break through and gain the audience I desire for my true calling.  I will do what I can do.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

