Now that my Goose is more or less cooked it’s time to get the Blues.

Now that I finally made the time to finish my latest project, it’s on to the next.  This time, I have been asked to make a logo for a blues band. I have some very concrete ideas about this, as I know the musician well and have seen his work on youtube.  This should be fun!  Also, this should give me some different subject matter on which to ply my skills. This project also serves a few more purposes.  First, I made a promise a while ago to do it.  It was an open timetable, so I wasn’t too terrible worried about it.  I had other more pressing things to do (and I still do, to tell you the truth).  But it is not as pressing as before.  The works I am doing are a little away from classic fantasy. But they are still fantasy in my opinion.  After all, a Biker Goose and a Blues Hound who dresses like Stevie Ray Vaughn is kinda fantasy for me.  As long as my artwork doesn’t start getting cramped with enough anthropomorphic critters to run a Furry convention, I should be fine.

Secondly, I placed an advertisement for doing promo work and design for local (and not so local) musicians.  Doing this work will give a tad of street cred and my first taste of working for a musician.  It my hope (since I love music and play some myself), that it will start some good working relationships with some people.  I would also like to do work for Stand-Up comedians also, as it is another group of people I would like to help.

Even so, my art has to be built step by step towards my over all goal of concept art.  My last piece got me re-acquainted with gradient meshes.  This work should get a more in-depth treatment of that skill, as well as adding some ink work to it.  This doesn’t even take into account the dozens and dozens of works I have in various stages, ready to go when I get time, not does it count the ideas that will inevitably spring from my mind in-between.

Anyway…..now I need to start my research on the next illustration. One down, 6000 or so to go…..

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

