The bitter sting of testing

Well, I just took my InDesign test for a company. I did what I could, studied what I could. I thought I had a pretty good grip on about 90% of the stuff I thought I needed. I did find out a few things out about myself. First of all, I was more nervous and jittery than I usually am. Most likely because it was an almost unique opportunity, and I didn’t want to blow it. Perhaps it was that I hadn’t tested in a while. The test I took itself seemed rather simple in many ways. Nonethless, I had some significant problems. First of all, I didn’t understand some of the terminology. For the most part, it wasn’t technical graphic design stuff.  Rather, it was things that would be in-house terms.  So that flubbed me up. Secondly, there was something I did not understand and had never seen before in InDesign.  I knew a way around it, but it wasn’t what the test was about, and they would see it.  So I knew that was a big bomb. I felt like crap. I studied new techniques for almost 2 days, but unfortunately they weren’t the techniques they wanted. This is always a danger when trying to work in another company.

After the test, more than a bit flustered, I looked at what I could have fixed, could have done better. The in-house terminology I could never have passed. I looked up the item I was looking for in the Indesign pdf. All I know is that after today I will learn how to replace a smart link. (I know how to link, but that isn’t the same).

So now, what to do?  Keep trying, and learning.  Understand I have just messed up a great opportunity.  It’s a shame though.  I do know printing, pretty darn well.  I understand press procedures, cmyk, bleeds, how to pre-flight a file, how to compensate for a muddy black with a cyan screen.  I was asked none of those questions.

I’ll continue to study when I can. Tell myself that perhaps it was for the best. If I keep applying myself, something will come along if I have the persistence and the desire to keep learning. I suppose I am looking long term to be an illustrator. But having a job would help with short to mid-range goals.

Update.  Ok, I stewed for about an hour and a half.  I suppose the rejection letter, when it comes, will sting.  But there is little I can do about that.

So I’ve had some time to thing, and to rationalize things a bit (a trait of mine is always to CHOOSE to see better things ahead if possible).  I did try my best.   I used my time from the moment I found out about the test to the test itself to study, and study hard.  I was decent at InDesign before.  Now I can say I know Indesign CS5 pretty well.   That will make my own personal design layouts better for future projects.   So this effort, while perhaps not the result I expected, did result in benefits that should help me in the future.  Failure is only a failure if one learns nothing from the experience.  I am overall richer for the experience.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art, Production art, Software testing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

