Affirmations and Enlightenments.

Life sometimes many is about dealing with uncertainties and fear.   Art, being a part of life also can emanate and magnify such fears.   Artists, even in the best of times, can be a jittery bunch, and we all deal with stress in different ways.  Some of us puff up our egos. Some of us run for cover.  I tend to seek knowledge as a way to deal with stress.  I firmly (and  maybe somewhat foolishly) believe that if I learn something new , I can creatively and intellectually punch my way out of a situation, especially if I can give myself time.

Lately I subscribed to a wonderful site called drawnbysuccess.com.  The site basically intimates tips from very successful artists, and what they did and do to remain financial successes, as well as how they stay creative.

I have just started reading the site, and I came upon an interview of Ali Sabet.  Ali has been making logos and character designs for many years, and he intimated his creative process (which he calls Hypercreativity).  It’s basic instructions for having a clear mind to work with, having no fear of the creative process, then quickly selecting the what to do – and then doing it. He also pointedly spoke of how to sell, which he says is more about helping people be happy, and fostering friendships and relationships with them.It was enlightening.

The interview also affirmed many key points for me.  I ‘ve always believed that it’s more about the client than the artist.  I also have used quick words to describe and highlight points in my work, associations to get it started.   I also understand the value of purpose in work.  It gives me hope.  Because in many ways, I think like him already.  And if he is successful, perhaps now if I can continue my work, I may one day be successful also.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment