A little bit of Sunshine!

Finally. Finally!!! This week has been one that had been getting me down.  Pressure to land full-time employment, along with my education in finance, was pulling me everywhere at once. And then yesterday, it hit.  I had not one, but two job offers.  The one was a security guard supervisor, and the other was as a graphic designer for a small press in San Jose.  Although I was grateful for the security job offer, I was gleeful to accept the position as a graphic designer at the press.

It must be said, working at a small press has it’s ups and downs. On the downside, it isn’t fancy. It’s nuts and bolts.  And some times you are shipping, pre-press, press, & customer service rolled into one.  On the other hand, it’s not because, if you don’t mind stretching yourself, you get to learn lots of things you would not otherwise.

This will be another excellent way for me to learn about business.  If I can learn software about presses, paper, customer relations, then that will serve me better in my own businesses (Both my design and insurance business).   And, if I truly like the press and the rates are good, I could use the company for my short run freelance work and broker it that way also.  This should also help me get some time to know more people in the community.  The more people I get to know, the better.

Soon, I should know a lot of people, probably more than I ever did before.  I’m getting in so many positions being exposed to the public.  Traveling to different job interviews and work sites, as well as my insurance training is teaching me many different areas of the Bay area.  I am going through an excellent education in that respect.

Getting my feet back into graphic design on a full-time basis will also allow me to keep my knowledge on  more current software.  The downside is that this is a press. I don’t think I’ll have an opportunity to learn web design. That is something though I may wish to pursue.

My new job will also be day shift, full time.  Stable.  I won’t have to worry about swing shifts, or weekends.   Although the compensation isn’t great, it’s not bad either, and I’ll get health benefits.   It’s only a few miles from my home as well.  It will be a good start.  And it’s coming just in time.  I didn’t have a leg to stand on before in CA. I now have at least 1 leg that I can hop on.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little bit of Sunshine!

  1. A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing just a little evaluation on this. And he the truth is bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If potential, as you turn into experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with more details? It is extremely helpful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog submit!

    • Thanks for your input on my writings! Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner – all comments were tagged as spam. I haven’t posted as much lately. Most of my energy has been put into finding permanent employment in the area. But I have started up more again of late. I am convinced that whatever happens in the next month or so, it has been worth it. I’ve learned a lot of things about myself and my wife that would never have come to light if it wasn’t for this strange adventure. It has been liberating to try with all one’s heart, to do, to take a stand. We so badly want to succeed, but in a way we already have on one level. If we are forced to go back to PA and our old life, then I know we gave it all our hear and courage we could. And I will not let our story end, no matter where we go.

      But the story over here isn’t quite over yet. Wish me luck!

      Thanks & Happy Holidays,
      Rhett

Leave a Reply

