Tick. Tock.

I decided to come up for a little air tonight.  Sometimes, despite the need for urgency, one has to write a few things down for posterity.

As I chronicled before, I was going to go “underground”, and really go to town on my job search and do what needed to be done. Well, the process isn’t finished.  I am still doing that.  But I must say, I am doing it with remarkable consistency and with an aggressiveness that makes me proud to say I am trying with all my heart.

Also I have not produced the results I would wish,  the process has made me act with a more direct and strong manner.  I know what I need to do, and I am doing it.  I am searching for employment for a good portion of my day.  The rest of the time is spent either learning what I can in software, or selling techniques for my insurance sideline.

I cannot say enough about how the classes and seminars I have taken have changed my outlook on the process.  I can now see (though I cannot yet emulate in more than a crude fashion) how selling a product (which can either be a concept, an item, or even better, oneself) turns on nuance and emotion.

I have forced myself to make cold calls to strangers.  I have approached strangers.  It has scared the bejeezus out of me, and I still feel a bit uncomfortable in some instances.  But the process has changed me.   It doesn’t kill me.   My mentor in the area who wants me to get a real job (he knows that the insurance/financial gig must start out on a part time basis) urged me to be aggressive in my job search. He told me to “be Sherlock Holmes, talk to people in the building, look for HR, etc, show up).  And I did so. Easily. And the cool thing about it – all the cold calls, all the prospecting, all the seminars….they helped me. I can now talk to people easier than before.  Heck, compared to doing insurance, it was incredibly easy. I got to talk to a manager, who said she would put a good word in for me to the person who was hiring in that position.

So what is the lesson here?   As artists, heck the general populace, aren’t taught such skills.  I now understand about stocks, mutual funds, how wealth is acquired.   I understand selling,  how to sell myself and how others sell to me.   You can learn so much, much more when you go outside of your comfort zone.  And sometimes, if you are lucky, you can apply it in various ways to other parts of your life.  So next time, someone gives you something that feels like you could never learn it…..try it. You might surprise yourself. You  might be able to use it in other aspects of your life that you may not expect.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tick. Tock.

  1. Some genuinely good posts on this internet site , regards for contribution.

  2. Rattling superb visual appeal on this internet site, I’d rate it 10.

    • Thanks for the positive input! Sorry I didn’t reply earlier. I found out today that all comments have been tagged as spam by my filter! I guess I’ll have to check on that from now on!

      Happy Holidays,
      Rhett

Leave a Reply

