When it rains, it pours.

In my topsy turvy world of late, I often roam through the employment world like a grizzled old wanderer through a post-apocalyptic world.  With but my wits and only a few rations left, I stumble on, looking for the next employment oasis to shelter me.

And then, once in a great moon, something happens.  After weeks of the parched and withered professional wasteland, I get a mini-flood of opportunities, and I go from zero to several choices that are laid before me.   It confounds me how this happens. Nothing….nothing….nothing….and then viola! Several things at once.

Not that I am complaining.   It’s a much better place than the alternative that usually awaits.   Yet still….I may have to make a choice.   Although I will not go into the specific names of the companies, it still is interesting what I may have to deal with.  BTW, these aren’t done deals, but I am getting close to at least 2 of them.

Company A would teach me office skills, accounting, and is a very large firm.  It is stable.  It has legs.  I could move up in the corporate ladder if I applied myself (this has never been a problem for me, so I embrace the possibilities).  True, it isn’t my forte (at least at the moment).  But  I also know, from my recent study of life insurance that I am capable of learning and doing very well in what I put my mind into.  I also know now that even things I thought might not be interesting can sometimes turn out to be VERY interesting.   The HQ is nearby, so that is good also.   No long trips through San Francisco traffic or past Monterey.

Company B is graphic design for a utility company.  It doesn’t sound fun, but it is in my sphere of knowledge, and it could be interesting.  Especially with the right people.  It might be further away.  But it may be pretty decent money.  And at this point though, I do need money.

Company C really sounds interesting to me.  The position deals with what I know well, but also builds upon what I know and will teach me more.  I would become a true expert in all aspects of the field, with some very well known clients. It’s near to my house, and convenient in many ways. It has the potential to grow from a small operation to something very big in a few years. And I could grow with them. Do very creative things in the future.  From what I saw, management seemed fair, sympathetic and we were in sync on work ethic.  That being said, I get placed in a more entry level position.  The pay would be good for a whipper snapper, but maybe a bit under for me.  Also, it was strongly hinted that I could work my way up into something higher if I show my true stripes.  Also….I think these people think big.  I want to root for them.  I want to be a part of something cool.

You can tell I really like option C.   So much so that until I can get a few raises in the future (if the company does well), that I’ll moonlight at another part time job/freelance/sell insurance on the side until things get better.  The only way I might not take it is A) I don’t get the job after all B)Somehow I get an outrageous amount of money thrown at me (very unlikely) C) George Lucas or Peter Jackson come out of the sky and offer me a job.  So I can be bought off.  But it would have to be something pretty awesome.

All things being equal (or even some less money), I’ll take C.  The truth of the matter is, I came out here to work hard and dream big.   If I can be with other people who want to do the same, to be part of a strong unified vision, I want to be part of that positive environment.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

