Traction.

It has been an interesting few weeks!  Through some miracle, I landed a job as a contractor audio/visual technician at Google!   I’m sort of  in a weird haze at the moment – it’s quite an awesome opportunity to grow, learn and develop…..exactly what I have been aspiring to all these years while in the career wilderness.   The training will be invaluable, and the possibilities of the contacts and interesting people I may meet will be manifold.   I was told when I took the position, although it is a contract job, it could last for a long time (it’s renewed every year), if I do well there.   And even if it does end in the (hopefully distant) future, the experience, training and being able to put on my resume that I worked at Google could be a life changer for me and my family.

Now it is my responsibility to learn well and fast.   I sincerely hope I am up to the challenge.  I am already studying what I can to get as much of a jump as I can on the position.   I would like to think I will do well, but I will promise this – I will do as I have over my career, and especially over the last year – I will face my fears, and give it my absolute best everyday.  That is all that I can do. I have found that skills are daunting to those who are new to them, until one takes the time to learn them.  From my initial readings, I can see it may well be a struggle, but it is doable for me if I apply myself. Which I will.

So now my life will change and I look forward to it becoming much better.  I will be dedicating much of my time to my new career at work and also out of work to review and start catching myself up to make myself worthy of the title and also to be where I am working.  I feel I am very lucky at this point in my life.  Now I have to make sure I use this opportunity to meet and then exceed the expectations of my co-workers as soon as possible.

I do think my newly stable life will benefit my artistic life as well  Once my wife finds full-time work, we will have enough to make a stable lifestyle.  This means some free time, with less worries.  Free time and worry free translates into the time to create art.  Art that can be made on my terms allowing me to focus more on my true love – my intention of Tyrlion Design – concept art and writing.  I have whole worlds waiting to spring out from my mind!

So Monday I walk into a new world – working at one of the most prestigious and interesting places to be.  I am a little frightened and intimidated, but my journey has been of late trained me to dealing with fear and pressure, and embracing the mistakes and triumphs that come my way through the learning process.  With this job, I am sincerely hoping this new chapter will lead to bigger and brighter prospects in my life and art.

I am ready to get the next chapter of the journey going!

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

