Whew!

It’s been a gratifying 2 weeks. I walked into Google with an eye towards carving my way into the lifestyle of the place.  I really worked hard, stayed over several hours a night with audio visual techs (which is the position I was hired for) to get as much of a grasp as I possible could. Since I don’t come from a technical background, the learning curve is steep. I pelted everyone with constant questions every day, hour, and sometimes minutes. I took almost 100 pages of notes in the last 2 weeks, not counting my home studies of the subject.  I know nowhere near what I need to know yet to be an asset to the company.

And yet, I think I have accomplished a few things. First  of all, my co-workers know I am serious about learning.  And luckily, they have been obliging me left and right in feeding me what I need to know.  I have started writing a training manual for those who come after me.  My supervisor seems to really like what I have written so far.

I have met professional engineers who work in an almost fairytale like setting of color, design, and whimsy. No more battleship grey walls for me!

Google food is very good.  They make highly nutritious food that tastes great.  And if fills you up!

Still, at the heart of the matter, I do not yet feel comfortable. I am but a contractor worker, and starting out low man on the totem pole.  I have a fear in the back of my mind that I will be let go at the end of my contract in December, and perhaps even sooner.  Which would be a shame.  I would like to stay on Google and grow into a different capacity within it, either becoming more of an engineer there or using my art skills in video production or events or something.

It is possible to be converted to a contract worker into a true Googler, but the path can be difficult. I do hope the experience enables me to grow in the Google company.  If not, I hope it helps me in the future in other places.  As for now that I love Google, Mountain view and the possibilities.  I am studying very hard, and will, like everything I do nowadays, give it my best shot, learning off others, putting in the time and effort to get better and educate myself.  After all, I don’t want to be ok at this. I want to be very good, perhaps great at it. And when I learn all I can learn, I will see if Google can provide me the change to expand into something else, another role.

Meanwhile, I am doing my part, and I hope soon other aspects will be resolved. Although it may take 6 more months to fully resolve those isssues.

As for other events – I have found that I still want to finish up my training in the insurance industry. I wouldn’t mind getting my Securities licenses.  That may happen, but this job is my primary focus. And then there is my artwork. I am going to schedule in some time every week. I want to get my little Zazzle business moving! After all, Tyrlion Design may be in torpor, but it’s still very much alive in my mind!

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

