Fear is not the enemy.

I have seen increasingly over time that one aspect of enriching my life is by embracing my fears.  I realize now, that fear is not my enemy.  Indeed most times, fear is my friend.  When fear is within me,  its’ presence shows me that I am doing something both exciting and unknown.   Many times I am doing something with the very real sense purpose.  The possibility of failure gives me a focused view that sometimes is lacking in my mundane life.

I try to think of it this way – fear is also another word for an aspect of excitement.  Yes, it can make one queasy and ill at ease with tasks at hand.   But the strange and offsetting moments also usually translate into real and accelerated learning and development in skills and personal growth.   Fear itself, if it is embraced in the manner as a learning tool, can change us for the better, if we let it.   Even in the worst scenarios, when fear is the harbinger of a very real and terrible event such as a life-threatening disease or violence, it can help us and others.  If we survive the event, if can help us become more empathic towards those around us who have had similar difficulties, and more willing to be of service to others.   This of course can only happen if we allow fear to educate us, rather than envelope us in loathing and self-doubt.  But that matter is not up to the fear itself. The matter of the choice of sculpting fear into a tool for personal and social good is up to each individual who experiences it at that point and place in time.

On a more positive note, balancing the fear of failure is the possibility of triumph.   Personally, knowing that I can eventually triumph if I do not succeed at first allows me to tread on, despite a multitude of failures.   As long as it is realized something in the fear inducing activity is learned, it also becomes apparent with each failure the possibility of triumph becomes magnified  and accelerated into an inevitability of success.  All that has to be done is the willingness to face one’s fears and fail as long as it takes to attain a point of personal excellence.

I also now see that once it is known that success can be attained in one area, and that fear and failure should not be fled from, then success can be attained in other skills by by running headlong into the winds of failure and fear!  When you feel fear upon you,  let the halcyon winds of fear howl!  Let failure bear down upon you , let it try to strip and tear you limb from limb!  Seek fear, cultivate it.  When one finds fear is just an emotion, that it isn’t as real as yourself, it can be dealt with. When it is found that failure is not only an option, it is an inevitability towards a great wide path to glittering success, then we can be saved from our mediocrity much more easily.   Just get up, face the fear, and get the failures over with without fanfare and drama!  Look forward to failures because that means the more one takes failure as part of the process of learning into their heart, the sooner success will follow.

When I contemplate failure now, more and more I say “SO WHAT!”   I now can stare the demon of self doubt in the eye and say – today, and this day onward – you have no power over me.  I see now I am having have more control over the narrative of my life.

 

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

