A Whirlwind of activity.

It has been almost 10 months of n0n-stop activity. Whew!  My latest little stint has been trying to learn (with no technical background in the matter) to be an Audio/Visual technician.  This has been very challenging, as I am an artistic rather than a technical soul.  But the money is good, and I love a good challenge.  Doing something one’s mind is not used to is painful, and intimidating. I know, I felt and looked “like a deer in the headlights” the first few weeks, despite all my efforts. It is only now starting to get better.  Even now, I still don’t trust myself entirely around electronics…..On the other hand, when I first took the job, everything people said sounded like gibberish. When I’m incorrect now, I know WHY I am incorrect after it is explained to me.

Truly, I am getting better at it.  I stay late at work, trying to learn from my co-workers.  I am reading.  I am coming in weekends, trying to understand the strange array of wires and gadgets.  But these things take time.  I hope I have enough time to learn what I need to. Most of what I want to accomplish out here in CA depends on me succeeding in this step.  I need to make a decent living out here, and this job provides that.  Also, there is room for growth and development at my workplace once I pass this crucial first step.  After this, I think I will succeed, because I will then keep studying and growing, and I think equal and (hopefully) get better than some of my coworkers in at least some aspects I want to specialize in.  This is because I will continue to study once I pass the first step. This all depends on if I can survive the next few months.  Which is frankly not guaranteed.  But I am giving it my all.  And all is all I can give.

A new (but welcome) wrinkle has just been added to my schedule.  I had a nice interview with a client for some freelance art.  This client is looking for a weekender freelance artist with good creative and illustration skills (perfect!).  We hit it off well, and I just have to produce a rather simple work this weekend.  So possibly some extra income will come my way, and Tyrlion Design will do some real business once more!  This activity, of course burns the candle at both ends, but what else would you expect from me?

My wife told me a few days she used to worry about me, but now she thinks I thrive on change, stress and new challenges.  Sad thing is, even though it does stress me out more than a bit, I think she is right.   I embrace the scariness of it. And each time I succeed, it gives me more confidence.   If I can make this next job (AV tech) I think I could be on to a good, solid footing in CA that will allow me good prospects of survival with a fair chance of thriving.  IF I make it.  I should know in the next few weeks.  I won’t lie.  Despite my exuberance and work ethic, this is quite a challenge in the short term because of my lack of technical skills.   My confidence lies in the future, should they give me the extra 3-6 months I need to grow into the position.  But for now, my supervisor probably sees more of a doubtful, somewhat shy guy unsure of himself.   I hope he can see past that and more into the future.In the future I know I will become a strong worker. Hard work, perseverence and strength of character always pays off in the long run if allowed to grow to fruition.

In the meantime, I will do what I know to do.  Work.  Study, listen. Be humble. Try to gain more confidence in my day job.  And later, when possible help my cleints with my freelancing in art.

 

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

