Intense life in the Northern CA sun.

ImageWow it’s been a long time. But I can’t say I’ve been idle.  Every day here since I posted last has been very much the same – intense.  Usually very happy days, but also on the tightrope.  After my first few months at Google, where I struggled to survive (not having the background necessary to make it unless I met with kind hearts, open minds and a titanic work ethic on my part), I managed, after about month three to be ok. I now have gotten to the point that while I am still not the best tech (I’m probably still the worst overall – 7 months of enthusiasm can’t make up for 7+ years of hands on experience of my peers), I can handle low to mid-range tasks.  My fussy and meticulous attitude has made myself particularly useful in shipping, logistics and database tracking, all items that most of my co-workers find the least interesting. for some reason, I enjoy tracking items across the globe.  I enjoy talking with people from different locations and businesses and trying to get them to help my company.  And my co-workers know they can depend on me to work hard on something and finish the job .  I am fairly confident at this time that all things being equal, my contract will be renewed for the next year, as long as I continue to grow as an employee.

My co-workers increasingly wanted me to go home at a normal hour, since I often worked there for 11+hour days (with only 8 hour workday pay).  I had may reasons, as I have outlined in previous entries.  But finally, after people were getting tired of it, I started to go home earlier a couple of weeks ago.  I think I have learned enough that, while not a master, I am at least an apt apprentice in the craft of A/V work.  So far, so good.  I just can’t let my guard down.  If I do well, my work at Google will keep me in good stead while I begin to work on my next step, the step I’ve wanted to work on since I came here – doing artwork. Finally. FINALLY!

Last week, since the very first night I went home at a decent (9+ hour) day, I have begun doing freelance work.  I started on a website called fiverr.com.  This site allows you to sell your work for five dollars. For my work, that is dirt cheap.  But it’s not the money I am looking for, not yet.  I’m trying to use it as a way to have people ask me for comission work and over-deliver.  The time I put into it is about fifty cents and hour. But at least it gets me working.  You see, while I sometimes can be a bit put-offish in my own work (always something ore important, right?), I cannot abide not finishing a comission for others.  So I work hard for them. When I start getting over-run, I’ll slow down.  In less thank a week I’ve had almost 8 comissions. (I think I am getting officially over-run!)

While I don’t believe in karma, it seems like I also have other comissions that may be coming my way, now that I have the time and the need to do so.  One includes some photoshop work for a local stereo and headphone manufacturer.  Another includes a collectible fantasy card game.  Very strange. Little work when I got here, now it’s starting to percolate with little effort on my part.  That is the life of freelancing, at least in the beginning. Feast or Famine. That’s why Google is helping me keep a stable cash-flow.

But I won’t be swimming in money – doing art, at least in the beginning is a very uneven and low paying affair.  Also, my wife is still looking for employment, and while my pay at Google as a vendor is decent, it can’t substitute for two incomes.  She’s been unemployed for months, and that has finally drained our resources to nearly the end.  This is frustrating.  I know full well how it feels to be able bodied, wanting to work, with a clean record and 20 years of experience and can’t even land a job at a grocery store.  It does  horrible thing to one’s mind.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Being unemployed was the hardest job I’ve ever had.

But I won’t give up hope until the last.  I cannot. My time in this great state and region has been an intense glory of ups and downs.  I won’t go quietly.  We are far beyond that now.  When my wife gets her job, we should be ok.  If she gets a job and my freelancing takes off (even a little), we should at last be able to stabilize, and begin paying our bills.  Then we begin paying them down.  And then to the ultimate goal of full-time artist, and helping my freinds from across the country come here and lay down roots, if they want to.  I’ve finished some of my comissions, and I will be posting more as I finish them.  Thanks for your support along the way.  My posts may not be coming with the frequency they once were – I am much too busy for that now.  But I will post on occaision, to those that are still interested.

Thanks,

Rhett

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

