The pursuit of imperfection

   So now that I have stated my atheist artist manifesto (so to speak), I have now been working on enacting the many worlds theory into my art and manifesting it into the illusory realization of it all.   I first started to take stock of everything I have at my disposal. This can range from research on the internet, the myriad books and pdfs I have at my disposal to both study and be inspired from, as well at software for my spoken poetry, voice acting, music, illustration software, animation and the like. This isn’t easy to do when one works 12 hour work days (counting commute time). Adding in the time I am trying to take doing exercise (when I can muster it), chores, etc I’m only down to a few hours a day. That is if of course I don’t check my email or do more work from home.  Or talk to anyone. Basically, I don’t have much time, and what I want to do would be daunting enough at a full time job. But I must keep on.  I cannot at this point reasonably pursue excellence.  I must at this juncture be satisfied with the pursuit of imperfection.  I must be willing to slog through time constraints, poor knowledge and high learning curves.  I must sometimes be only able to work on things for 30 minutes a day.  Because there simply is no time, save perhaps on weekends. That is if I’m ignoring my wife.   I don’t know what I would do if I had children. I suppose it would be game over and just put my energies into their creative endeavors since I would no longer be able to pursue mine.

So what I have done this week is made a sketch a very broad outline of the epochs of my many worlds.  It is how I envision something from nothing, from singularity to multiplicity. How energy forms, how color is born, and music would light the multiverse. How geometry is formed and through increasing complexity organic structures would prevail.  My method is pseudo science, I admit. It cannot hold a candle to the great complexities of the multiverse. It’s just fantasy, an indulgence on my part. But the structure I have made gives me some clarity and structure from which to base the various epochs of my worlds. 

I also began to experiment with my desire to voice act in some of my work. On the advice of some audio engineers I know I downloaded a software called Audacity, which is simple enough for my to use, if not master. My voices record, but the quality sounds like the bottom of a submarine. My goal of imperfection is once more obtained!

Basically though, do not take my being flippant as not being serious. I will crack open the books and talk to my DJ and Audio engineer friends. I will take my sketches of my geometric worlds and energy drafts, my chibis and demons and angels and mad scientists and fantastical landscapes. But I must make the mistakes, and take my simple works and expound upon them into the complex works that they will give birth to.

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

