Tinkering with things well enough left alone.

The last several years, I have had the fortune of being able to travel many places in North America.  Along the way, I’ve taken thousands upon thousands of photographs.  The digital age of photography has allowed me this luxury.  Primarily, I love to take nature photographs.   Pictures of the big and the small.  The towering of Redwoods and of ants crawling along  the sweet nectar of a flower.  I’ve always loved to be a witness to these comings and goings in life, to be a spectator in the great cycle of nature.  I feel it helps me be more attentive in life, to be able to focus for a short time on things other than myself whilst I lumber through life.

However, I have always had a bit of a problem with my photography.   Although I chose the angle of the shot, it didn’t quite feel like I was participating enough in the artistic side.  My photographs were me bearing witness to the majesty around me, but it was in a voyeuristic manner only.   Yesterday, I decided to take another step in the process and try experimenting with my digital photographs in photoshop, and adding some more of my personality to it through a combination of filterwork and digital painting.   I’ve done this before, but not really seriously.   I thought it could be interesting to pursue it at this time, and see if anyone besides myself would be receptive them.  Plus I wanted something to do with all those photos I made, and personalize them more.  A few years ago, I would have placed the photos online as they were.  But now there are so many photos of flowers, trees and birds (oh my!), that I decided to make mine stand out more for me and my customers.

This experimentation I think will go further.  The response from friends and on DeviantArt has been generally positive. I am also opening another store on Zazzle (www.tyrlionpphotography.com) I also believe it can add another dimension to my portfolio. Now I just need to upload my voice acting, ukule playing and a lecture on history, and it’ll be complete! (oh, maybe not all that stuff, but you get my drift!).

About Rhett Kennedy

An east coast transplant living in San Jose CA, and loving it. I am a master of useless trivia (medieval and ancient culture, a smattering of politics, ukulele and fan of most forms of music). I know life insurance, audio visual technology, commerical and fine art nd love to sing scottish ballads. I'm happily strange and enjoy strange people as a result.
This entry was posted in "fantasy art", Art, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment